All the Feels really have me feeling All the Feels ? Let's find out

Monday, 1 August 2016



Title: All the Feels

Author: Danika Stone

Source: ARC Tour: Sunday Street Team

Publisher: Swoon Reads

Release Date: June the 7th 2016





From Goodreads:



College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.


First of all, thanks so much to Nori for letting me review this book for the Sunday Street Team! Everything below is my honest opinion of the book “All the Feels”

All the feels was a nostalgic kind of book. The first pages you’re sucked into the book believing it to be a kick ass sci-fi BUT IT WAS JUST A DECOY. This sci-fi scene only lasts a couple of pages (I read this as a ebook, it could also be just a couple of paragraphs), and we basically witness the killing of our protagonists favourite character ever. This scene is the root to the whole book, the base to the story line and what the whole book was really about. which was mediocre.

For this review I’d like to write my review as a series of likes and dislikes, or in other words pros and cons (for the first time ever).

Likes:
  • The very opening scene. It was written well, and I was so sucked in, I was devastated that Spartan died
  •  Liv is a fangirl – I related to her (sometimes) and it made the book a lot more enjoyable
  • Her fellow fangirls. When she interacts with the whole fandom, I was sitting back and thinking “THIS IS ME”, “I DO THAT TOO”, “ALL MY TWITTER FRIENDS ARE EXACTLY LIKE THEM”
  • The format of the book. We have texts, tweets and pictures galore. It made me feel like this book was just a collection of real tweets and texts as the people were so realistic.
  • The different types of fandoms that Danika fleshes out in the book is EPIC!
  •   The book is split into ‘two parts’. Before and After Dragon Con. The whole process and events leading up to the Con was very interesting to read about
  • XANDER AND LIV IS #FRIENDSHIP GOALS
  •  Xander is proud of his sexuality !!!
  • That romance was cute
  • The Dragon Con ‘vibe’ was perfectly depicted. I’ve only ever been to one official Con but I’ve been to several fandom & book related events and they’re all spectacular. The ‘vibe’ and writing of when Liv was at Dragon Con was perfect and brought up so many memories.


Dislikes:
  • Okay… I like Liv and all, but the drama between her and her mother felt kind of unnecessary
  • Not much of a dislike, but sometimes the dialogue felt ‘forced’ & ‘unreal’ but it always quickly recovered
  • I had a bunch of questions at the end, like how did ‘this’ work out and should we have just left the actor for Spartan alone, because this is what he wanted.


In the end, I rated “All the Feels” 3 and a half stars. It was just an okay book. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green
Post Comment
Post a Comment

Yarn with us and share your thoughts below!